Who we are

mission statement

The Mission of Catholic Charities of Orange County is to serve people in need, strengthen family and community, support parish ministries, and to extend God’s love to all

vision statement

Catholic Charities of Orange County will be a center of excellence in providing quality services to those in need, increasing the dignity of those served.

Catholic Charities lives out its mission in three distinct ways:

  1. Provides quality professional social services to individuals and families to transform hopelessness and despair into self-reliance and optimism.
  2. Advocates for justice and respect to transform social structures so that human dignity, reverence for family life and community well-being are embraced.
  3. Expands knowledge, providing education and resources to assist Catholic parishes to live out the Gospel’s call to practice works of charity and justice.

Board of Trustees (2016-17):


Most Reverend Kevin Vann, JCD, DD

Vicar for Charities

Rev. Edward Poettgen

Executive Committee

Sr. Mary Therese Sweeney, CSJ – Chair

Director of Mental Health, St. Joseph Health; Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange; serves in a number of boards and advisory committees on Mental Health.


Mr. Pat Imburgia – Vice Chair

Business owner of Mission Flavors; parishioner at St. Kilian.


Mary Aileen Matheis – Secretary

Lawyer; Director, Irvine Ranch Water District; Eucharistic minister and Lector at St. John Neumann.


Mr. Garry Day – Treasurer

Investment management consultant, Morgan Stanley; parishioner at San Antonio de Padua.


Mrs. Phyllis Fiorentino – Member-at-Large

Past president, Orange Diocesan Council of Catholic Women; Lady in Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem; Lady Knight of Columbus; Eucharist Minister, parishioner at San Antonio de Padua Parish.


Mr. Joe Quiros – Member-at-Large

Retired engineer, grand juror, a lector, Eucharistic minister, and member of Finance and Pastoral Councils at St. John Neumann.


Fr. Ed Poettgen – Vicar for Charities

Vicar of Charities, Pastor of Immaculate Heart of Mary in Santa Ana; 2016 Chair of the Orange County Community Housing Corporation ; Board Member, Comunidad Latina Federal Credit Union.


Mr. Ed Benoe – Immediate Past Chair

CPA Founding Partner, HBLA; immediate past Chair, CCOC Board of Trustees; Knight of Columbus; Knight of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem; parishioner at St. John Neumann.


Executive Director

Teresa “Tita” Smith, LCSW
Tel: 714-347-9680
Email: tsmith@ccoc.org

Executive Assistant

Rebecca “Becky” Tamondong, MA Ed.
Tel: 714-347-9628
Email: rtamondong@ccoc.org

Director of Finance

Zenaida Yolo, CPA
Tel: 714-347-9648
Email: zyolo@ccoc.org



Mrs. Kathie Benoe

President, Catholic Charities Auxiliary 2016-2017; an active parishioner of St. John Neumann Church, Lady of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre; volunteer worker with St. Vincent de Paul, Knights of Columbus Council, Families Forward.

Mrs. Mary Brunson

Accredited Investment Fiduciary; Vice President, Investing for Catholics; Marketing director in Financial Services; parishioner at St. Thomas More.

Mr. Carlos Carney

CPA, Carney and Associates; CCOC Finance Committee Chair; Knight of Columbus; Member, Diocesan Mental Health Advisory Board; City of Irvine Investment Advisory Council; parishioner at St. John Neumann.

Deacon Frank Chavez

Director of the Diocesan Office of the Diaconate; CCOC Program Committee Chair; belongs to the Christ Cathedral parish.

Dr. Guy Gottschalk

Medical doctor, Past Grand Knight and Past Faithful Navigator of the Knights of Columbus, Knight Commander of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem.; St. John Neumann parishioner.

Mr. Jeff Hamilton

Vice President of Community Bank; an 11-year member of the CCOC Board of Trustees; parishioner at St. Angela Merici.

Mr. John Heffernan

Attorney; Partner in law firm Heffernan and Boortz; Real Estate Broker; Board member: Second Harvest Food Bank, Goodwill Industries, Verbum Dei High School, De la Salle North Catholic High School in Portland; former mayor of Newport Beach; Eucharistic Minister at Our Lady Queen of Angels Parish.

Mr. Brian Hogan

Self-employed lawyer, Hogan Law Group; parishioner at St. Timothy.

Mr. Randy Jackson

Business owner of Placeworks; architect; Legatus member; Christ Cathedral Architectural Committee member, CCOC Ways and Means Committee chair, parishioner at Our Lady Queen of Angels.

Mr. Mark Jablonski

Senior Vice President of Mission Integration at St. Jude Medical Center, parishioner at St. Martin de Porres.

Mr. Steve Luchetta

Director of Business Development at MATT Construction Company; Knight of Columbus; Knight of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem; parishioner at St. Thomas More.

Sr. Mary Elizabeth Nelsen, CSJ

Membership Director of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange; artist; CCOC Golf Committee Co-chair.

Mr. Kevin Simes

Human Resources professional; church leader and former youth minister at his parish, Holy Spirit Church.

Ms. Helen Steves

Director of Campus Ministry at Mater Dei High School; parishioner at Our Lady Queen of Angels.

Mrs. Gladys Gutierrez-Teske

Licensed Clinical Social Worker with S.O.S.; community service and church service volunteer at Holy Spirit Church.

Mr. Dennis Thurston

Diversity Manager, Southern California Edison; parishioner at St. Timothy.